2016 Giller Prize shortlist


The wait is over! Earlier today the 2016 Giller Prize shortlist was announced.

The list is as follows:

  • Mona Awad for her novel 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl
  • Gary Barwin for his novel Yiddish for Pirates
  • Emma Donoghue for her novel The Wonder
  • Catherine Leroux for her novel The Party Wall
  • Madeleine Thien for her novel Do Not Say We Have Nothing
  • Zoe Whittall for her novel The Best Kind of People

The Shadow Giller jury will now swing into full reading and reviewing mode as we try to determine who we think should be the winner. We will announce our chosen title a few days before the official winner is named on Monday 7 November.

In the meantime, if you are on Twitter we’re happy to announce that we have set up a Shadow Giller account. You can follow us @ShadowGiller. Please use the hashtag #ShadowGiller


One Response to “2016 Giller Prize shortlist”

  1. buriedinprint Says:

    So many of the shortlisted titles have already gotten a fair bit of attention, which seems to increase the likelihood of some good discussions to be had over the coming weeks. Good reading to all of you!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: